The latest updates about ATSU news, current events, research, and more.

Still Magazine
ATSU President
Scholarly Activity
Museum of Osteopathic Medicine
Story Idea?

Story Idea?

Click here to attach a file

Class notes


Jeffrey Tipton, DO, ’90, Los Angeles, California, wrote and directed a movie titled “Lovers Leap,” which premiered July 29-30 in Hannibal, Missouri. The movie is a story inspired by the legend of Lovers Leap, which is a favorite sightseeing spot atop a bluff offering a panoramic view of Hannibal, the Mississippi River, and Illinois. A longtime writer, Dr. Tipton mostly writes screenplays but started making movies two years ago. The film was selected to be screened at film festivals this year before becoming available on major streaming platforms, including Amazon and Hulu.

Michael G. Saribalas, DO, CBSM, ABSM, ’92, was appointed to the staff of the Cleveland Clinic Neurological Institute Sleep Disorders Center as the center’s sole sleep psychiatrist. He also enjoys teaching students at Ohio Dominican University’s Physician Assistant program and is on staff at Ohio University’s College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Lancer Gates, DO, ’96, was voted president-elect for the Missouri State Medical Association. The presidential inauguration will take place April 1, 2023, in Kansas City.


Lt. Col. Matthew Pieper, DO, ’06, a Center for Sustainment of Trauma and Readiness Skills instructor at St. Louis University, received the Distinguished Flying Cross on Sept. 12, 2021. According to a story by Airman 1st Class Whitney Erhart, 131st Bomb Wing, published by the Air National Guard, Dr. Pieper received the award for life-saving measures he performed on a partner-force soldier while assigned to a joint medical unit in 2018 in northern Afghanistan.

Jodan D. Garcia, PT, DPT, OCS, FAAOMPT, ’09, was promoted to clinical professor at Georgia State University in the Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) program. Dr. Garcia is a graduate of ATSU-ASHS’ DPT program.

Paul Sibley, DO, FAOAO, ’09, was named chief of hand surgery at Lehigh Valley Orthopedic Institute in Allentown, Pennsylvania.


Andrew Kalthoff, DO, ’15, joined Mercy Health in Cincinnati as a sports fellowship-trained orthopedic surgeon and the Cincinnati Sports Medicine and Orthopaedic Center Fellowship as a faculty member. Dr. Kalthoff is a graduate of ATSU-KCOM.

Kelsey Davis-Humes, DO, ’16, was appointed medical director for Memphis Medical Services at Scotland County Hospital in Memphis, Missouri. Dr. Davis-Humes joined the medical staff at Scotland County Hospital and Clinics in 2019.

Peter Chung, DMD, ’18, joined Smiled Obsession at a new location in Steamwood, Illinois. Dr. Chung is a graduate of ATSU-MOSDOH.

Lisa Bosch, DMD, MPH, ’19, Edina, Missouri, was named a 10 Under 10 dentist by the American Dental Association for demonstrating excellence in the profession. A graduate of ATSU-MOSDOH, Dr. Bosch was also recognized as a 2022 Outstanding New Dental Leader by the Missouri Dental Association for her commitment to organized dentistry and her advocacy work for community water fluoridation.


Tasha Harder, DO, ’20, Flagstaff, Arizona, was named Resident of the Year during the annual Arizona Osteopathic Medical Association Awards. Dr. Harder is a graduate of ATSU-SOMA and resident at North Country Healthcare.

Kris Pyles-Sweet, DMSc, ’21, PA-C, MS, ’18, is serving a term as president of PAs for Tomorrow and is serving on the Government Affairs Committee of North Carolina Academy of Physician Assistants. Dr. Pyles-Sweet is a 2021 graduate of ATSU-ASHS’ Doctor of Medical Science program and a 2018 graduate of the Advanced Physician Assistant Education and Leadership program.

Kimberly Sapre, DMSc, PA-C, CAQ-EM, ’21, founded and was appointed chair of the Virginia Academy of Physician Assistants’ (VAPA) Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee. Dr. Sapre is a member of VAPA’s Membership and Marketing & Communication committees. A 2021 graduate of ATSU-ASHS’ Doctor of Medical Science program, Dr. Sapre also serves on the Society of Emergency Medicine Physician Assistants’ Education Committee.

Stacy Scroggins, DMSc, PA-C, ’21, was selected to serve as the American Academy of Physician Assistants’ representative to the National Quality Forum’s Measure Applications Partnership Rural Health Advisory Group. Appointment to the national committee is highly selective, and Dr. Scroggins will be the sole physician assistant representing the profession. Dr. Scroggins is a 2021 graduate of ATSU-ASHS’ Doctor of Medical Science program.

Sandra Lindsay, DHSc, MBA, MS, RN, CCRN-K, NE-BC, ’21, the first person in the U.S. to receive a COVID-19 vaccine, received the Presidential Medal of Freedom on Thursday, July 7, at the White House. The recognition is the nation’s highest civilian honor and is reserved for individuals who have made exemplary contributions to the prosperity, values, or security of the U.S., world peace, or other significant societal, public, or private endeavors.

Dr. Lindsay serves as a critical care nurse and director of patient care services in critical care at Northwell Health’s Long Island Jewish Medical Center. She is a prominent advocate for vaccines and mental health for healthcare workers.

Submit class notes to

Orthopedic Physical Therapy Residency Graduates pass board certification

All six residents who completed ATSU’s Orthopedic Physical Therapy Residency (OPTR) program in September 2021 have passed their board certification exams. Now, the following residency graduates are board-certified clinical specialists in orthopedic physical therapy.

Clarke Antonio, DPT, ’20

Foothills Sports Medicine Physical Therapy, Phoenix, Arizona

Megan Davis, DPT, ’20

Mend Physical Therapy, Boulder/Lafayette, Colorado

Kathryn Ellis, DPT, ’20

Endurance Rehab Arcadia, Phoenix, Arizona

Alex Feitz, DPT

Rainey Pain and Performance, Sierra Vista, Arizona

Steven Le, DPT

360 Physical Therapy, Maricopa, Arizona

Brittany Rose, DPT

Travel physical therapist with AMN Healthcare

The American Board of Physical Therapy Specialties coordinates and oversees the specialist certification process as the governing body for certification and recertification of clinical specialists.

“This group represents our 11th cohort of OPTR program residents at ATSU in Arizona. We are proud to now recognize them as advanced practitioners of orthopedic physical therapy who represent the values of ATSU alumni. We are grateful to the OPTR program faculty, clinical mentors, and clinical sites that helped prepare these residents for board certification.”

– Cory Manton, PT, DPT, OCS, CSCS, ’01

Director, OPTR program


Never miss out—get the feed today!