The latest updates about ATSU news, current events, research, and more.

Still Magazine
President’s Desk
Scholarly Activity
Museum of Osteopathic Medicine
Story Idea?

Story Idea?

Click here to attach a file

A celebration of community

Sixth annual Still Spirit Awards honors community leaders

A.T. Still University honored in March more than 30 Kirksville leaders who contribute to the community in a variety of roles and for more than 60 local organizations.

Led by ATSU President Jack Magruder and guest emcee Alisa Kiger, the 2011 Still Spirit Awards hosted just over 200 community members and honored seven with Still Spirit Awards.

This is the sixth annual ceremony ATSU has held to honor those community leaders who exemplify A.T. Still’s compassion and giving spirit. During the ceremony, President Magruder said Dr. Still would have loved the connection that exists today between the university and Kirksville.

ATSU-KCOM Biomedical Sciences student Paul Buttars entertained the audience on his guitar during dinner.

“It’s really neat that this community has twice come to the aid of A.T. Still University,” he said, recalling the money the Kirksville City Council gave to Dr. Still to form his medical school, as well as the $1 million recently raised to bring a dental program to the Missouri campus. “This truly is a celebration of community.”

The 2011 Still Spirit Award winners include Tourism Director Debi Boughton; co-chairs Ranee Brayton and Larry Gardner of Community Friends for ATSU Dental; longtime community supporters Bill and Dianthe Cable; livestock producer Garry Mathes; and radio host John Mc- Connell.

Last year’s Still Spirit Award recipients Gary Cunningham, Shag Grossnickle, Marietta Jonas Jayne, John and the Hon. Martha Rowe, and Bertha Thomas were recognized, as well as 25 nominees.


Never miss out—get the feed today!