The latest updates about ATSU news, current events, research, and more.

Still Magazine
President’s Desk
Scholarly Activity
Museum of Osteopathic Medicine
Story Idea?

Story Idea?

Click here to attach a file

Class notes

Roger Morris, DO, ’69, Ashley, Michigan, retired at the end of December 2021 after 52 years of family medicine. He interned at Carson City Hospital and practiced in West Virginia and Florida before returning to Michigan.


Robert L. DiGiovanni, DO, FACOI, FACR, ’82, rheumatology program director for Largo Medical Center in Largo, Florida, was appointed president of the American College of Osteopathic Internists (ACOI) for 2021-22. Dr. DiGiovanni will serve a one-year term after serving several years as an executive board member. He has been a member of ACOI for more than 30 years and earned the distinction of fellow in 1994.

Steven Short, DO, ’83, was inducted into the Natural Science Hall of Fame at Southwestern College in Winfield, Kansas. A graduate of ATSU-KCOM, Dr. Short was honored for his significant contributions in the natural sciences and continuing the college’s history of excellence.

Jeffery Kerr, DO, ’85, received the Wilbur T. Hill, DO, FACOFP, dist., Distinguished Service Award by the Missouri Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons (MAOPS). This award honors Dr. Kerr’s lifetime dedication and responsibilities he has held as a MAOPS member. He is a graduate of ATSU-KCOM.


Bret Ripley, DO, ’01, was elected president of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians’ Iowa chapter during the 2021 Midwest Osteopathic Family Practice Virtual Conference. A graduate of ATSU-KCOM, Dr. Ripley is a family physician at MercyOne South Des Moines Family Medicine Clinic in Des Moines, Iowa.

Nina Hsieh, MS, ATC, CSCS, CES, ’03, joined the Charlotte Hornets as assistant athletic trainer.

Chris Wolf, DO, FAAPMR, ’04, was named president of the Missouri Association of Osteopathic Physicians
and Surgeons. Dr. Wolf is a graduate of ATSU-KCOM, board-certified in physical and rehabilitation medicine, and in private practice at Bluetail Medical Group in Chesterfield, Missouri.

David Tannehill, DO, FACP, FACOI, ’05, was named Physician of the Year by the Missouri Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons. A graduate of ATSU-KCOM, Dr. Tannehill is a critical care specialist at Mercy Hospital in St. Louis and is board certified in internal medicine.

Christina Garretto, DO, ’06, was included in Marquis Who’s Who for her work in family medicine. A graduate of ATSU-KCOM, Dr. Garretto serves as a physician at Mercy Hospital St. Louis, Mercy Hospital Washington, and Mercy Hospital South. She also serves as a board member for Mercy Hospital Washington and as an associate professor at Saint Louis University School of Medicine.

Nichole Kingham, AuD, ’06, Mill Creek, Washington, was selected to join the American Academy of Audiology’s 2021 board of directors. She will serve a three-year term through Sept. 30, 2024. Dr. Kingham currently works with Practice Development Groups to help implement an audiology assistant or technician into private practice audiology and medical ear, nose, and throat clinics.

Ryan Lee, DDS, MHA, ’06, MPH, ’07, joined Cambridge Health Alliance in Cambridge, Massachusetts. He serves as chief of dental services.

Trisha Perry, PT, DPT, ’07, co-published “Clinical Guidance to Optimize Work Participation After Injury or Illness: The Role of Physical Therapists” in the August 2021 issue of Journal of Orthopedic and Sports Physical Therapy.

Abigail Mitchell, DHEd, MSN, MBA, RN, CNE, FHERDSA, ’09, professor at D’Youville College in Buffalo, New York, published a continuing education article, “Culturally Sensitive Care for LGBTQ+ Individuals: Considerations for Case Managers,” in the June/July 2021 issue of Care Management. This article marks
Dr. Mitchell’s 20th publication.

Dallas Mullock, DO, ’09, celebrated opening his practice, Mullock Health Care, in Maryville, Missouri, with a ribbon-cutting ceremony nearly one year after opening in May 2020. Dr. Mullock is a graduate of ATSU-KCOM.

Ryan Osborn, MS, ’09, was chosen by his peers as one of the 2021 Bob King Coaches of the Year in the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. He is the boys basketball head coach at Carmel High School in Carmel, Indiana.


Carmelia “Lia” Amuna, DHEd, LPC, ’10, Killeen, Texas, was appointed to the Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors by the Texas governor, with her term ending Feb. 1, Currently, Dr. Amuna is director of the Student Wellness and Counseling Center at Texas A&M University-Central Texas.

Jeff Beaty, DHEd, ’10, was named executive director at Morning Pointe of Brentwood, an assisted living facility in Brentwood, Tennessee.

Michael Brown, DO, ’10, received the Missouri Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons Professional Medallion Award. A graduate of ATSU-KCOM, Dr. Brown is board certified in family medicine and specializes in primary care and family medicine at Meritas Health in Smithville, Missouri.

Dinesh Sharma, DO, ’10, joined Conemaugh Physician Group-Cardiology in Johnstown, Pennsylvania, providing outpatient care. A graduate of ATSU-KCOM, Dr. Sharma specializes in invasive and interventional cardiology.

Vasco Deon Kidd, DHSc, PA-C, ’11, was appointed to the California Physician Assistant Board by the California governor with his term expiring Jan. 1, 2023. Dr. Kidd has been associate clinical professor in the University of California, Irvine (UCI), School of Medicine, Department of Orthopedic Surgery, since 2021 and director of the Advanced Practice Providers Program at UCI Health since 2019.

Brian Grondahl, DO, ’13, joined Essentia Health as an interventional cardiologist in Fargo, North Dakota. Dr. Grondahl is a graduate of ATSU-KCOM.

Stephanie Grondahl, DO, ’13, joined Essentia Health as a pediatric hospitalist in Fargo, North Dakota. Dr. Grondahl is a graduate of ATSU-KCOM.

Kate Kensrud, MS, PA-C, ’13, joined the cardiology team at St. Luke’s Hospital in Duluth, Minnesota.

Angela Miller, MS, PA-C, ’13, joined Uncompahgre Medical Center in Norwood, Colorado.

Jared Nichols, DO, ’14, received the President’s Award from the Missouri Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons. A graduate of ATSU-KCOM, Dr. Nichols is board certified in family medicine and
neuromusculoskeletal medicine and serves as an assistant professor of osteopathic manipulative medicine
at Kansas City University College of Osteopathic Medicine’s campus in Joplin.

Jesse Beard, DO, ’15, joined Parkland Health Center in Farmington, Missouri, as an orthopedic surgeon. Dr. Beard is an ATSU-KCOM graduate.

Mazen Elkurd, DO, ’15, joined the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, Texas, as an assistant professor of neurology. Dr. Elkurd is a graduate of ATSU-SOMA.

Whitney Hilton, DO, ’15, joined Access Sports Medicine and Orthopaedics in Exter, New Hampshire. She is a graduate of ATSU-KCOM.

Indigo Brown, DO, ’16, joined Preva Health in Mondovi, Wisconsin, providing family medicine care for children and adults of all ages. She is an ATSU-SOMA graduate.

Angela Harrell, DHSc, MHA, ’16, was appointed associate vice president of healthcare relations for the University of Saint Francis in Fort Wayne, Indiana. She adds this role to her current work as dean of the College of Health Sciences.

Nicole Betschman, DHEd, ’17, was appointed director of public health and health services program/assistant professor at Trinity Washington University in Washington, D.C. Trinity Washington University is classified by the U.S. Department of Education as a minority serving institution, predominantly Black institution, and more recently, emerging Hispanic serving institution.

Clark H. Butler, DO, ’18, joined the medical staff at Moberly Regional Medical Center in Moberly, Missouri.
Dr. Butler is a graduate of ATSU-KCOM.

Submit class notes to


Never miss out—get the feed today!