Interdisciplinary Biomedical Research Symposium (IBRS)

The 11th annual Interdisciplinary Biomedical Research Symposium will take place on November 7, 2020 at the Kirksville, MO campus. Stay tuned for further information on submitting an abstract and presenting at the conference.

The A.T. Still Research Institute would like to thank all program sponsors, participants, judges, and attendees of the 10th Annual Interdisciplinary Biomedical Research Symposium help October 27, 2019. The winners of this year’s event were:

Best Overall Research

  • Carlie J. Proctor, BS
    Evaluation of Middle Cerebral Artery Blood Flow During Inversion Table Therapy Using Transcranial Doppler Ultrasonography in Young Healthy Adults

Outstanding Clinical Research (Award sponsored by Still-OPTI)

  • Jess K. Caine, DO
    Evaluation of the traumatically head-injured child, institutional utilization of computed tomography
  • James Lam, DO
    Efficacy of Commercial Hand Sanitizers in the Clinic Setting

Neil J. Sargentini Memorial Award for Outstanding Biomedical Research

  • John C. Ehlen, BS
    Attenuated Baroreflex Regulation in the STZ-induced Rat Model of Alzheimer’s Disease

Outstanding Faculty/Staff Research

  • Jeongsook Kim-Han, PhD
    Different activities of specific blockers on human and rat voltage-gated sodium channel subtypes in HEK cells and rat DRG afferent neurons
  • Dax Demaree, DO
    Retrospective Analysis of Geriatric Rib Fracture Management and 30-day Complication in a Rural Hospital
  • Todd N. Troxell, DO
    GAPO Syndrome: A Rare Genodermatosis

Outstanding Student Research

  • Amanda Steiner
    Peptide binding and interaction at the βDELSEED-motif of ATP synthase
  • Adam Cloonan, BS
    Modeling the Activity of Adult Dermacentor variabilis Off-host Using Environmental Variables
  • Elizabeth Howcroft, OMSIV, Molly J. Burke, OMSII, & Carolina Gusciara, OMSII Rat Placenta at Gestational Day 18 is Colonized by Bacteria in Health and Disease
  • Robert P. Ring, MS
    Phylogenetic distribution and expression of a penicillin-binding protein homologue, Ear and its significance in virulence of Staphylococcus aureus
  • Peter K. Windsor
    Investigation of Amyloid β Biflavonoid inhibitors in Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Ari Vera
    Determining the Viability of Calpain Inhibitors as Drugs for Alzheimer’s Disease

The Interdisciplinary Biomedical Research Symposium (IBRS) is an annual no-cost event hosted by the A.T. Still Research Institute of the A.T. Still University of Health Sciences (ATSU). The event gives students, residents, faculty, and regional researchers the opportunity to present their current biomedical research and provides a foundation for promoting collaborative biomedical research with the Institute. The IBRS consists of oral presentations, poster presentations, and a keynote address.

For further information, contact: