Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine
Apply to ATSU Now
KCOM Student

New & Current Students

Accepted Students : KCOM Academic Calendar : Student Services : Financial Aid : Medical Education : Academic & Clinical Educational Affairs : KCOM-AHEC Program : Preceptor Information : Postdoctoral Study (Still OPTI) : Scholarly Activity : ATSU Portal : Registrar : Commencement : University Student Handbook : KCOM Catalog PDF : Postgraduate Placement : iconnect news portal : ATSU Matthews Bookstore

Scholarly Honors and Awards - 2014

(Honors or Awards received by ATSU/KCOM students; listed alphabetically by recipient)

TOUCH Program Awards. The following ATSU-KCOM medical students (OMS2 unless noted) were recognized as 2013-14 (4/1-3/31) TOUCH Certificate Awardees: Platinum Level (campus leader in hours of community service): Christine Beeson; Gold Level (>100 hours of community service): Christine Beeson, Philip Hall (OMS3), Steven Joyce, Todd Troxell; Silver Level (50-99 hours of community service): Ben Crary, Michelle Hamilton (OMS3), Tyler Hill, Catherine Hoffmann, Katherine Kramme (OMS1), Dustin Mayne, Jake Moore, Kathleen Naylor, Kaitlyn Stratowski (OMS3), Margaret Tate, Christine Thomas, and Christopher Thompson. TOUCH (Translating Osteopathic Understanding into Community Health) is a national initiative of the Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents. The goal of the program is to encourage and recognize osteopathic medical students to work towards improving the health of their local community through service. In accordance with the osteopathic philosophy of treating the whole patient, service goes beyond mere health promotion and can include a wide array of involvement that has a strong positive impact on peoples’ lives.


Club Compassion Award. The ATSU-KCOM Chapter of DOCare International was recognized as the KCOM student organization with the most outstanding participation in community service through the Translating Osteopathic Understanding into Community Health program (TOUCH, 4/1/2013-3/31/2014). Along with a certificate, the DOCare International Chapter was awarded $300 from the Osteopathic Pride in Service Committee of the Student Government Association to recognize their achievement and to encourage them to continue their great efforts in the service of others.


Agarwal, Deepak, and John Austin Carr, Rachael Colpaert, Gina Doloresco, Michelle Hamilton, Kyle Marcotte, Dan Morgan, Kaitlyn Stratowski, Alex Ulfers, and Kari Watts (all Class of 2015) were each inducted in 2014 into the Gold Humanism Honor Society at ATSU-KCOM. The Gold Humanism Honor Society, sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, honors medical students, residents, role-model physician teachers and other exemplars recognized for “demonstrated excellence in clinical care, leadership, compassion and dedication to service."


Beeson, Christine (Class of 2016): Elected as Student Trustee, American College of Osteopathic Pediatricians (1 year term)


Schoenfuss, Amanda (Class of 2016) and King Alicia (Class of 2016): Outstanding Medical Education Research Poster and Presentation award for: Lockwood M, Kondrashova T, Schoenfuss A, King A, Integration of Ultrasound into the Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine Curriculum. Poster Presented at the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine 11th Annual Conference 2014; Washington, DC; April 2-5.


Thomas, Christine (Class of 2016) and Christine Beeson (Class of 2016) were selected/accepted to participate in the Tenth Annual Telluride Patient Safety Educational Roundtable and Summer Camp at Telluirde, Colorado, on “The Power of Change Agents: Teaching Caregivers Effective Communication Skills to Overcome the Multiple Barriers to Patient Safety and Transparency”. The Telluride Patient Safety Roundtable and Summer Camp brings international leaders in patient safety, informatics, human factors, simulation and health science education together with patient advocates and students to address important patient safety educational issues.