Faculty and staff accomplishments (December 1-March 31)

Accomplishment kudos

Vera Bannerman, MBA, academic advisor, ATSU-CGHS, received the ATSU-CGHS Outstanding Employee Award for customer focus during the 2023 ATSU Employee Recognition Ceremony.

William Brechue, PhD, professor and chair, physiology, ATSU-KCOM, received the A.T. Still Staff Award for Excellence in Teaching for basic sciences during the 2023 ATSU Employee Recognition Ceremony.

Alan Coonfield, coordinator, animal care, ATSU-KCOM, received the Distinguished Service Award for the Missouri campus during the 2023 ATSU Employee Recognition Ceremony.

Brian Degenhardt, DO, professor, ATSU-KCOM, director, A.T. Still Research Institute, ATSU, received the Teaching & Learning Center's Innovation in Teaching for Learning Award for his project, "System Providing Objective Feedback for Calibration of Palpation Skills."

Lihua Dishman, DBA, MBA, associate professor, health administration, ATSU-CGHS, was selected by the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) as an item writer to develop ACHE's 2023-27 Board of Governors Certification Exam's Practice Exam.

David Doubblestein, PT, PhD, CLT, Cert MDT, LLCC, assistant professor, physical therapy, ATSU-ASHS, received the Teaching & Learning Center's first runner-up Innovation in Teaching for Learning Award for his project, "Mobile-Office Hours."

Valena Fiscus, DO, MPH, assistant professor, internal medicine, ATSU-KCOM, received the A.T. Still Staff Award for Excellence in Teaching for clinical sciences during the 2023 ATSU Employee Recognition Ceremony.

Jaana Gold, DDS, PhD, MPH, CPH, professor, public health, ATSU-CGHS, received the Michael Samuels Impact Award during the 2023 ATSU Employee Recognition Ceremony.

Benjamin Gross, MOT, OTR/L, instructor, occupational therapy, ATSU-ASHS, was elected as treasurer of the American Occupational Therapy Association for a three-year term.

Matthew Heeren, JD, vice president & general counsel, ATSU, was selected as U.S. Soccer's National Girls Recreational Coach of the Year.

Amber Kuamo'o, senior administrative assistant, ATSU-ASHS, received the Arizona campus Employee Excellence Award for the fourth quarter of 2022.

Kenneth Lam, ScD, ATC, FNATA, professor, interdisciplinary health sciences, ATSU-ASHS, received the 2023 Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer award and the 2023 Athletic Trainer Service award by the National Athletic Trainers' Association.

Greg Loeben, PhD, MA, associate professor, public health, ATSU-CGHS, received the ATSU-CGHS Professor of the Year award during the 2023 ATSU Employee Recognition Ceremony.

Sue McDaniel, MS, instructional designer, ATSU-CGHS, was announced as the incoming chair of the Missouri Quality Matters Consortium.

Tamara Valovich McLeod, PhD, ATC, FNATA, professor and chair, athletic training, ATSU-ASHS, received the 2023 National Athletic Trainers' Association Foundation Medal for Distinguished Athletic Training Research.

Mary-Katherine McNatt, DrPH, MPH, MCHES, CPH, COI, professor and chair, public health, ATSU-CGHS, was nominated and selected to serve on the 2023 National Rural Health Association Board of Trustees. She was also elected to the Council on Education for Public Health Board of Councilors.

Ammar Musawi, MDS, BDS, MPH, assistant dean of preclinical education & simulation clinic, associate professor, ATSU-MOSDOH, received his U.S. certification of naturalization in February 2023.

Daniel Ochoa, general maintenance assistant, facilities, ATSU, received the Distinguished Service Award for the Arizona campus during the 2023 ATSU Employee Recognition Ceremony.

Patrick Palmieri, DHSc, EdS, MBA, MSN, ACNP, RN, is serving as senior collection editor for *Therapeutic Advances in Infectious Disease*.

Brooke Robinson, MPA, director, student success, ATSU-MOSDOH, received the Elsie Gaber Compassion & Integrity Award during the 2023 ATSU Employee Recognition Ceremony.

Carrie Robinson, PT, DPT, OCS, assistant professor, physical therapy, ATSU-ASHS, received the Teaching & Learning Center's second runner-up Innovation in Teaching for Learning Award for her project, "Progressive Clinical Cases Based on Student Decisions."

Patricia Sexton, DHEd, associate dean, medical education, ATSU-KCOM, was recognized by the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners as the COMLEX-USA Level 1 Item Writer of the Year.

Julie Truitt, administrative support, learning & disability resources, ATSU, received the Missouri campus Employee Excellence Award for the fourth quarter of 2022.

Cailee Welch Bacon, PhD, ATC, associate professor, athletic training, ATSU-ASHS, was named a fellow of the National Athletic Trainers' Association.