Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine
Apply to ATSU Now
KCOM Student

Alumni and Friends

Alumni Ambassador Program : Alumni Directory : Alumni Portal : Alumni Association : Class Newsletter : Continuing Medical Education (CME) : Events : iconnect news portal : Support ATSU-KCOM

Alumni Association

Officers and Board of Directors : Awards : Bylaws

Kirksville Osteopathic Alumni Association

These amended Bylaws of the Kirksville Osteopathic Alumni Association (KOAA) were adopted by the KOAA Board of Directors on November 2, 2009, in New Orleans, La.  The Bylaws became effective immediately.   

Osteopathic physicians who are graduates of the Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine (KCOM), a College of A. T. Still University of Health Sciences (ATSU), and those colleges which were amalgamated in its formation and development, may organize and apply for a charter as a divisional chapter of this Association.  Only one such chapter within the boundaries of any single state, province, or foreign country may be chartered by this Association.


Section 1 - Regular Membership
Regular membership in the Association shall be granted to osteopathic physicians who are graduates of KCOM and those colleges which were amalgamated in its formation.

Each member of each graduating class of osteopathic medical students of KCOM shall be awarded membership in this Association as a part of graduation ceremonies.

Regular membership may also be extended to osteopathic physician graduates of other osteopathic colleges upon application, provided that the college of graduation was properly accredited at the time of graduation but no longer is accredited as an osteopathic college.

Section 2 - Honorary Membership
Honorary membership in the KOAA may be conferred by specific action of the Board of Directors and approval of the Assembly upon persons who have rendered meritorious service to osteopathic education.

An honorary member, unless he/she is also a regular member, shall not hold elective office in the Association nor have a vote in the Assembly.

Section 3 – Associate Membership
Associate membership may be conferred on preceptors of KCOM students, residents, and participants of KCOM CME programs who are not graduates of KCOM.  This category is to reflect the desire to recognize, honor, and seek the assistance of people who value KCOM’s mission but who did not graduate from KCOM.

An associate member is not eligible to hold office or have a vote in the Assembly.  They are fully welcome to attend social, educational, and service activities of the ATSU-Kirksville Osteopathic Alumni Association.

Nominees will be recommended at the spring KOAA Board of Directors meeting and approval of the nominee(s) will be at the fall KOAA Luncheon and Assembly Meeting.

The KOAA shall be an integral part of KCOM.

Section 1 - KOAA Office
The office of the KOAA will be in the University complex and will be financially maintained by the University.

Section 2 - Special Projects
The KOAA will sponsor special projects approved by the Assembly for the purpose of aiding the College.  Any income received for them will be specifically earmarked and channeled through the ATSU Controller's Office.

Section 3 - Remaining Funds
In the event of this Association being dissolved in the future by whatever action or means, the funds remaining in the treasury after all obligations of the Association are fulfilled shall become the property of ATSU or its legal successor.

The Assembly shall be the Legislative Body of the Association.

Section  1 - Composition
The Assembly shall consist of osteopathic physicians who are graduates of KCOM and such other members as defined in the Bylaws.

Section 2 - Meetings
The Assembly shall convene during the annual meeting or any called meeting of the Association.

Section 3 - Presiding Officer
The president of the Association shall be the presiding officer.

Section 4 - Quorum
The members present at the Assembly who are qualified to vote shall constitute a quorum.

If you have questions or need more information, please contact Alumni Affairs by email ( or call 866.626.2878, ext. 2307 (toll free).