Support ATSU
  • About
  • Programs of Study
  • Admissions
  • Alumni
  • Departments

News Release

Date: 10/24/07

KOAA Recognizes Osteopathic Leaders

KIRKSVILLE, Mo. – The Kirksville Osteopathic Alumni Association recognized A. T. Still University faculty and alumni during its award luncheon and assembly meeting at the American Osteopathic Association Conference on October 1 in San Diego, Calif. 

Jason Haxton, M.A., director of Still National Osteopathic Museum, was presented with the KOAA Honorary Membership Award. This award, established in 1948, recognizes individuals who have rendered meritorious service to osteopathic education. Haxton’s position with the museum allows him the opportunity to preserve the artifacts and history of the osteopathic medical profession.

Ron Winkler, president of Winkler Communication Services, which provides data and telecommunications service for ATSU, was also presented with the KOAA Honorary Membership Award. Winkler currently serves as president of Kirksville Regional Economic Development Inc., and is chairman of the Telecommunications Commission. 

Wilbur Hill, D.O., ’51, received the KOAA Distinguished Service Award. Unable to attend the luncheon in San Diego, Dr. Hill was presented the award during the alumni class reunion on October 18. This award is granted to alumni and friends of KCOM and KOAA who have provided outstanding service and/or financial support to KCOM and/or KOAA.

Peter Swofford, D.O., ’57, was named KOAA Alumnus of the Year. This prestigious annual award was established to recognize a KCOM graduate who has made outstanding contributions to KCOM and the osteopathic profession. As the KOAA Alumnus of the Year, Dr. Swofford wants to remind graduates that his generation paved the way for the open practice environment they enjoy and not to take it for granted.


A.T. Still University is the leading institution at the forefront of multidisciplinary healthcare education founded on the principles of whole person care. It boasts Arizona’s first and only dental school, the Arizona School of Dentistry & Oral Health,and the world’s first osteopathic medical school, the Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine. The University also provides osteopathic medical education through its newest school, the School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona. In addition, it offers online health management training programs through its School of Health Management and trains healthcare professionals in several allied health fields through the Arizona School of Health Sciences in Mesa, Arizona.