Support ATSU
  • About
  • Programs of Study
  • Admissions
  • Alumni
  • Departments

News Release

Date: 4/16/2007

Kirksville citizens honored at Third Annual Still Spirit Awards

University honors Volunteer, Business, Not-for-Profit, Government Leaders of the Year

KIRKSVILLE, Mo. – In front of a crowd of more than 200 community members, faculty, staff, and students, A.T. Still University presented Still Spirit Awards to four community leaders out of dozens nominated. The awards honor the “spirit of community giving” modeled by the University’s founder and the father of osteopathic medicine, Dr. Andrew Taylor Still. Marlene Speas, a local television and radio personality, emceed the ceremony and presented the awards.

Linda Colton received the Community Volunteer of the Year Award. Colton is the president of the Kirksville Arts Association, president of the Sojournors Club, president of PEO, and a member of Quota International. During the award presentation, Speas read excerpts from Colton’s nomination.

“Linda embodies the true meaning of a community volunteer. She is always there willing to lend a hand and serve. She is a proven leader who works to find solutions to "opportunities" presented in any setting,” Speas said.

Jim Hughes, Kirksville Chief of Police, received the Government Leader of the Year. In his nomination, Hughes was described as “an active member of the community who has the best interest and safety of the citizens of Kirksville at heart. Chief Hughes is involved with the E-911 Joint Services Board (Non-City Appointed), established and manages the operating procedures for the Adair County 911 Call Answering Center.”

Alisa Kigar, executive director of the Kirksville Area Chamber of Commerce, received the Not-for-Profit Leader of the Year award. Kigar’s nomination described her as “professional, personable, and welcoming to all who know her. She is service minded, gracious, and warm hearted. Alisa is an advocate for all, one who gives freely of her time and talents, and above all else, dedicated to helping the citizens of our area succeed in their professional, civic, and personal endeavors.”

Craig Shorten, owner of the DuKum Inn, received the Business Leader of the Year Award. Shorten’s nominators pointed to his success in revitalizing the once-defunct business.

“He has transformed this historic business and enjoys continued success. The DuKum Inn itself is a very welcoming and friendly place with a relaxed atmosphere, thanks to the vision of Mr. Shorten.”

All Still Spirit Award winners received crystal trophies presented by ATSU President James McGovern, Ph.D. In his remarks, Dr. McGovern reminded the audience how valuable the Kirksville community is to ATSU.

“Tonight, we will honor the few to encourage the many,” Dr. McGovern said. “This is an extraordinary town and a wonderful place to raise medical students.”


A.T. Still University is the leading institution at the forefront of multidisciplinary healthcare education founded on the principles of whole person care. It boasts the nation’s newest – and Arizona’s first – dental school, the Arizona School of Dentistry & Oral Health,and the world’s first osteopathic medical school, the Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine. The University also provides osteopathic medical education through its newest school, the School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona. In addition, it offers online health management training programs through its School of Health Management and trains healthcare professionals in several allied health fields through the Arizona School of Health Sciences in Mesa, Arizona.