News briefs

3rd Annual Lecture on Aging

The 3rd Annual Lecture on Aging, titled "Interdisciplinary Care for Elders," was held April 20. The guest speaker, Dr. Elizabeth Protas, is interim dean at the School of Allied Health Sciences, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston. Dr. Protas also is a Ruby Decker Endowed Professor and a senior fellow of the Sealy Center on Aging. The lecture was broadcast via satellite to Kirksville from ATSU's Mesa, Arizona, Campus. One of ATSU's core values is a strong foundation in understanding the aging process.





left: Bernadette Luberda, Arizona Dean Randy Danielsen, Valerie Lane, President McGovern, and Ted Wendel, Arizona associate provost



front: Candice Curtice, Rachel Friedman, Ashley Absmeier-Koppenhafer, Micole Melson, and Bethany Rogers back: Arizona Dean Randy Danielsen, President McGovern, and Ted Wendel, Arizona associate provost

ATSU Authors Luncheon

As part of ATSU's mission to promote the body, mind, and spirit, the Arizona School of Health Sciences welcomed two Arizona authors, Ruth Ann Hogue and Jyl Steinback, to a Body-Mind-Spirit Authors Luncheon moderated by radio and television personality Pat McMahon on April 28.

Hogue shared the story about Walter Schifter, a terminally ill cancer patient, and his wife of 52 years, Lillian. Hogue's new book, "Good-bye Walter: The Inspiring Story of a Terminal Cancer Patient," sheds new light on life's journey. Hogue currently writes for *The Business Journal* and *The Arizona Republic*'s Southwest

Community Section.

Steinback talked to the crowd about how to have fun while building and maintaining a healthy, nutritional lifestyle. Steinback has sold more than 2 million cookbooks with titles such as "Supermarket Gourmet," "Fill Up to Slim Down," and "The Busy Mom's Make It Quick Cookbook."

During the luncheon, scholarship recipients were recognized for their exemplary academic records and a strong commitment to community. More than 100 people attended the event. Proceeds from the luncheon helped fund the ASHS Dean's Scholarship Fund.